Book Review

A Therapy Memoir’s Benefits

This unique genre helped change my outlook

Sarah-Marie
8 min readMar 6, 2023

--

Image made by the author in Canva, inspired by the colors of the cover and tteokbokki.

I was gifted the book I Want To Die But I Want To Eat Tteokbokki for Christmas. An odd title for sure, but I was intrigued. I’ve been reconnecting with my “foster roots” recently of growing up in South Korea for part of my childhood. My sister knew this and was very kind to help me in this quest. The book is described as a therapy or mental health memoir, a genre I had never heard of before, but this isn’t the only example of one. In recent years, these have become more popular as people who go through a healing journey wish to share their insights with others.

It’s an intriguing idea, especially with the surge of self-help books in recent years. “Part memoir and part self-help book” is also what it is billed as and you can see why. The book recounts the author’s journey in therapy and mental health over the course of three months. The author is Korean and therefore the book was originally written in Korean and takes place in South Korea, but has been translated into English after it became a bestseller in Korea, thanks to recommendations from boyband BTS member RM.

Baek Sehee is a social media director who begins seeing a therapist because something isn’t quite right. She doesn’t know if she is doing badly or if she has something…

--

--

Sarah-Marie

Author & Writer | Querying my YA Fantasy novel |Top Writer in Space | A little bit of everything: Science, personal development, fiction, hobbies, and art